California drunk driving law is one of the most strict law enforcement attempts to decrease the casualties caused by drunk driving. Being the center of the entertainment and technology industry in the United States, the state of California is also America’s most populated state. Along with the population growth it is currently undergoing, the law about drunk driving in California had to be adjusted as such to be able to accommodate the need of their populace. The law needs to be strict yet fair without leaving room for offenders to underestimate the law. California drunk driving law needs to be carried out seriously by the law enforcing elements to prevent future law offenders into thinking that they could get away of their offense.
The California dui laws & penalties are stated clear enough for people to see that they are going to be sorry when they are drinking while intoxicated. First time offenders can be convicted with 96 hours to a maximum of 6 months jail time depending on the circumstances happening around the time and during the arrest. Under the California drunk driving law, the offender’s license would also be suspended in addition of being eligible to be fined to an amount that can reach as much as $1600.
Losing their license may also result in losing their job, especially if their job requires a driving license in order for them to be hired. Although, for some people, this is just right and the offenders deserve to lose their job because drunk driving is potentially life threatening not just for the drivers, but also for pedestrians. California drunk driving law provides an appeal for license reinstatement although there would be a price to pay.
An ignition interlock device is a new method that is implemented in the California drunk driving law to make sure those California dui law offenders would be sober when they are going to drive after their offense. The device is designed to lock the ignition and requires the driver to blow into the device to test the blood alcohol concentration of the driver. If the alcohol concentration level exceeds the limit set by California drunk driving law which is 0.08%, then ignition interlock device would – as the name implies – lock the ignition and prevents the drunk driver from starting the car.
The law about drunk driving in California is clearly stated and can be searched upon the many law sites in the internet. If you feel somewhat violated from your rights while you are being charged with the California drunk driving law, then you have a right to get an attorney of law to help you with your legal problems. If you are drunk enough to call your doctor instead of your lawyer; however, you should realize that you are definitely in the wrong and following the procedure obediently is the fastest way for you to get out of trouble.
Laws in California are strictly implemented such as DUI California first offense. DUI or Driving Under the Influence is categorized as a serious offense because it can actually cause damage to property as well as to the passengers and even the innocent bystanders. Knowing California DUI first offense penalties is worth it especially if you are planning on moving there in the future or if you are already working or living in this area, but is just about to get your driver’s license. This way, you won’t be caught unaware of any violation of the law that will lead to more problems in the future.
Talking about DUI California first offense is a serious business so pay attention. The first thing that you should know is that when it comes to 1st offense DUI California, there are two parts that are often checked. One is the severity of the defendant’s impairment at the time of arrest wherein a sobriety test is administered and second is the alcohol level in the blood. 0.08% is the maximum allowable amount of alcohol in the blood. Anything beyond this is considered to be an impairment, which means that you are already guilty of the crime and will be punished accordingly.
For prosecutors who will be handling California DUI laws first offense, they often look into different factors. Among these are the age of the defendant, the injuries inflicted on the surroundings such as homes, people, and the like, and whether the defendant has already prior cases filed against him or her. Although the law in the DUI California first offense sees this case as a misdemeanor, when the damage is too severe, it can become a felony case. Aside from gathering evidence on the damage caused by a driver who is under the influence, the prosecutor can also enlist the aid of the arresting officers to give statement to what transpired between them and the defendant.
If a defendant is found guilty as stated by the law governing DUI California first offense, his license will be under suspension for four months. A defendant who refuses to undergo chemical testing will be punished with a one-year license ban. The list of the penalties only grows depending on how severe the case is. Depending on how the court finds the defendant when the trial ends, the fate of the driver is in the hands of the jurors, the judge and his lawyer. If ever you find yourself caught in a DUI California first offense, you should enlist the aid of a professional to help get your sentenced reduced.
There are other important information that you should do research on for your DUI California first offense needs. Although it is better to know how to handle this instance, it is always safer for you to exercise necessary precautions when you are drinking. Keep in mind that drinking and driving don’t mix. Avoid using recreational drugs as well and you will find that your time on the road will be that more pleasant.